Searching my family roots

August 9, 2011

Great site,

I have been trying to reasearch my father’s side of family with little success, my father was Ronald Ullah born in 1948 in London. His father was Surab Ullah born 1911 in Syhlet. His father was Hamid ullah (farmer/landholder) I believe also of Syhlet.

I have been led to believe that my grandfather Surab Ullah was born in one of the palaces in or around Syhlet and that him and his father Hamid ullah were part of the Dhaka Nawab family, how and in what way I do not know as I have been unable to trace anything further, My grandfather Surab ullah came to England in the 1930s. He used to work on a ship called as Kelwyn, which was torpedoed 2 months after he was discharged of which there were only 7 survivors, thank goodness he was discharged before this happened or I may not be here today! then when settled in London he worked as a chef and married my grandmother Lillian Gwendoline Taylor ( Nana Gwen ).

That is pretty much as much info that I have or know. I would dearly love to try to confirm what I have been told about my grandfather and his father being of the Dhaka Nawab family line. If anyone maybe able to help it would be greatly appreciated .

Kathleen Ullah

kpuffett76@hotmail.co.uk

One Response to “Searching my family roots”

  1. Khawja Waqar Azim Says:

    You click on “genealogy of the Nawabs” of this website
    and search by your grandfather’s name.

    Thanks
    Khawja Waqar Azim
    Dhaka
    Cell # 880-1711863028
    waqarazim82@yahoo.com
    waqarazim82@hotmail.com


Leave a Reply

