Breaking News: S.K.Moinul Hassan Passes away

April 4, 2009

moinul-hassanS.K.Moinul Hassan passed away today here in New York.

Inna Lillahe Wa inna ilaihe rajeun.

He was earlier admitted at Queen Hospital in Jamaica after complaining chest pain.

 

Please call 718 848 3767 for update and condolence.

 

The namaj e janaza will be held tonight after Isha pryaer at Al Madani masjid located at 24-04 89th St at East Elmhurst Astoria.    

Masjid phone number 718 672 1660 

 

Family Tree: http://gupshup1.tribalpages.com/tribe/browse?userid=gupshup1&view=0&pid=440&rand=777503114

 

29 Responses to “Breaking News: S.K.Moinul Hassan Passes away”

  1. Khawaja Saifullah Says:

    It is real shocking to hear the death news of Moin Chachuu, He was my fathers cousin from maternal side, a person with great smile. i just cant believe my eyes to see this shocking news. I remember the last time I saw him was when he was teaching in university of Dhaka and at that time I just got admitted in the university, his department was just beside my, I used to study in International Relations. When ever we met he used to ask how my studies are going on.

    I don’t have any words to express my grief, I can only pray to Almighty Allah to grant him Jannatual Firdouse and may Allah give enough strength to his family member so that they can bear the non replaceable loss.

    Khawaja Saifullah
    Son of Late Nawabzada Khawaja Hafizullah
    Dhaka, Bangladesh


  2. May Allah grant him Jannatul Ferdous for the sake of His Beloved Rasul sallallahualihe wassallam. Our condolences to the entire family.

  3. Suhail & Najma ( Muazzam ) Says:

    Innalilla he Wa Inna Ilaihe Rajeuun
    We are absolutely shocked and dumbfounded by this sad news.
    We are praying for his departed soul – may Allah grant him Jannatu Ferdaus.
    Our hearty condolences to Nanu and the rest of the family,may Allah give them all the courage and patience required to cope with this incalculable loss.
    We will always fondly remember his eversmiling face.

    Suhail and Najma Muazzam
    Manchester, UK

  4. ARSHAD Says:

    Namaze Janaza Info:
    Masjide Madani
    24-04 89th areet
    East Elmhurst
    Astoria 11369
    718-672-1660
    Tonigh After Isha.

  5. ovais hassan Says:

    Moin chachu was my uncle.On Friday the 3rd Noman chachu called our house and was crying screaming and saying his eyes are closed.Then my whole family took their jackets and left as soon as we heard the news.When we reached the place,3ambulances,2firetrucks

  6. Belal & Beena Says:

    We met Moin Chachu twice in the last two weeks and he was very cheerful as always.

    We have just returned from Moin Chachu’s
    namaz-e-janaza where we saw his peaceful face for the last time.

    Allah has undoubtedly showed him his place in Heaven.

    – Belal & Beena

    [Syed Khwaja Belal Hassan is the nephew of
    Syed Khwaja Moinul Hassan]

  7. eshtiaq Says:

    it was realy a very shocking news for us.we were together in dhaka university passaes a glosoius time. it is realy hard to accept this shocking news.
    allah maoinul hasan ko jannatul firdous naseeb kare.
    eshtiaq and brothers.

  8. Shagori Says:

    Its is really shocking to see the news moin bhai is no more with us , my son just informed me about this news , we used to live in same neigbour back home(nawabbari) he was very ambitious man , we will pray for his departed soul may Allah bless him and give him the jannatul ferdous Amin

    Shagori
    Maryland usa 2405957839

  9. Khawja Waqar Azim Says:

    I will always remember Moin Bhai’s smileing face. Really he was a great man. His early death is a big loss for the nawabbarians. May Almighty Allah grant him jannatul ferdous.

    Khawja Waqar Azim
    Dhaka

  10. Iftekhar Hassan Says:

    It is with deep sadness that we have learned of sudden death of Professor S.K.Moinul Hassan. To his bereaved Please convey family, loved ones, friends convey our heartfelt condolences.

    May Almighty Allah grant him jannatul ferdous.

  11. Sherry Says:

    if you all will allow me to comment:

    I must say Moin chachoo was exhuberant in character. Even though he stayed with us for only a month, he left us with invaluable lessons of such eclectic spirituality, that it is beyond my capacity to explain in words. I am not commenting just because Moin Chacchoo has passed away and now we should all be sympathetic…no! Moin Chachoo was truly an amazing person. Since we are all oblivious to the actual reality, we used to disregard him at times on account of his alleged illness. However, we were the very ones who were fooled. He was the one who was fully embracing the true reality of returning home. He is a complete role model of what you call success both in dunya and for akhiraat. May Allah give me the opportunity to depart this world the way he did because it was all too glorious, Masha Allah. May Allah grant him closeness to Rasool Allah Sallalaho Alaihe wa sallam.

  12. Nashmin Says:

    Moin Chachu ..What more can one say about him? There are no words more superior, no thoughts more magnificent, and no human so graceful as our Moin Chachu. He has proved his intellect through words on paper (as he was a successful literature professor) and has shown us the reality of one who belongs to Deen through his actions. It is true as Sherry mentioned above about how we would sometimes neglect him due to his illness. Now that we realized what we missed is regretful. I spoke to him a few times after he came to New York. He would always say “Sorry” and “Thank You” after everything. He is a great soul. IS, because he is still alive in our hearts. Thus, he can never be stated as WAS.

    I also remember telling mommy (my mother) once that Moin Chachu has the most beautiful eye lashes I have ever seen. He is a beautiful person not only by features, but also by heart and soul. I do not hope that he receives Jannat-Ul-Firdous because I KNOW that he WILL receive it. Knowing the fact that he has been through a lot of hardship in life, he has earned himself a great place in heaven. I am glad to know that he will be happy there. He is in great hands. Now it is our turn to prove that we are his nieces, nephews, brothers, sisters, sons, and daughters …so that we all leave this Duniya with the same pride and dignity he left with Masha’Allah.❤
    ❤ We all love you Moin Chachu. You will remain in our hearts forever …❤

  13. Syed Hamza Says:

    Bapu(Moin Chachoo)was like a father to me. I was privileged to be at Bapu’s side during the last few months of his life. What I learned from him in this short period of time I could not have learned by going to any University. He was truly an inexhaustible fountain of knowledge, wisdom and kindness. Standing by him during the last few seconds of his life was a sight to behold! He passed away as gracefully as a tired child falls asleep. May we all experience a death of such unparalleled beauty. May allah grant him Jannatul-Ferdous.
    I would like to thank all the people who stepped forward with support and condolences in this time of need. Within hours of his death we began receiving calls from all over the world. We received hundreds of calls from Dhaka, Dubai , Pakistan, Italy, UK, Canada and of course the USA. I was astonished to see the innumerable number of calls that flooded in from South Carolina. The teary voices of his Family, friends, students and colleagues showed how much Bapu was loved and revered. I was proud to learn that many people in South Carolina and Bangladesh have held Gayibana Janaazas and events in memory of Bapu. He will always reside in our hearts and serve as an inspiration to all.

  14. Panna Says:

    I am speechless. I am not able to praise Bhaijaan, for praise would finish the ink. I am honored to serve this holy man, even if it was for a short while; in the midst of his utterances, he would speak the most expensive of words that even the whole world wouldn’t be able to buy. As Nashmin mentioned above, he said thank you and sorry a million times. Bhaijaan’s smile sparked the whole house. he was the kind of guy who extracted happiness in the little things. The most easy going person I’ve met in my whole entire life. May Allah grant him in companionship of Rasool Allah Sallalaho Alaihe wa Sallam.

  15. Khawaja Md Alam Says:

    ” Inna lillahi wa inna illehi rajoon”Just got the news yesterday and was very shocked & sad.Life is soo short no one knows when is his/her departure but when ever it comes may it be with the Riza of Allah Subhanahu watala “ameen”.My deepiest condolence to his whole family. May Allah give them sabar, do his greatest magfirat, & make his Qabar a garden of Jannah.

    K, Mohammad Alam & family.
    Madinah Al Monawarah

  16. Raina Abu zafar Says:

    In all the’flurry’ of self promotion and intimate moments in life( typical of our family ‘highs’), it was a pleasure to read about someone so brilliant as Khawjah Moinul Hassan. I don’t recall knowing him ( or of him), but it gave me great pleasure to read of his achievements. An Assistant Professor of Literature myself, I could relate to his writings and thoughts. He must have been a gentleman of greater ideas and extreme brilliance. May Allah grant him his place in Heaven and grant his family patience. Ameen. Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

  17. arshi Says:

    Bhaijaan(moin), a man, so humble is very rare to come across in todays world A man with hidden qualities and wisdom beautifully pakaged.He was a living encyclopedia .during the last few month of his stay with us he open up the pages of his life from childhood till the very end….stating”Those were the golden days.”Bhaijaan, once told me i was meant to be a bird but ended up being a human.As i held his hand in his last minute icould see his deeds enlighting his face.He departed gracefully to the eternal truth…Death.A death so beautiful we all should crave. For today was his turn and tommorrow will be mine

  18. arshi Says:

    continued….i am missing bhaijaan alot last few month he was there with me like my shadow.i seek his forgiveness for i should have done more for him. Bhaijaan thank you for your ‘ThankYou’ & ‘sorries’.You will always remain in our hearts as advice, inspiration and motivation.May Allah(subhanahutala)reward you with the very best in Jannat-ul-ferdous & the company of Rasool Allah Sallallahu Alaihe Wasallam, His beloved Abbu & dear ones.Ameen.

  19. Sayyab Syed Says:

    I still can’t accept that Bapu (Moin Chachu) is no longer with us. That’s because he will always be in our hearts.
    He loved the people of Nawab Bari, his friends, and family and it showed.
    Once when he came to Dhaka as a visiting professor his room was filled with students, teachers, and friends. These people loved and respected him a lot and it looked like he was their leader.
    I remember when we were all in Bangladesh, I started a pen collection and Bapu was the one who helped me the most.
    I will never forget him.

  20. Ovais Zubair Says:

    I met Moin mamma only a handful of times. Our encounters were generally brief and my memory of them vague, but I still knew him extremely well. I heard so much about his achievements and accomplishments while I was growing up in Karachi that to my young mind he became the personification of brilliance and one of my inspirations.
    My father (K.M. Zubair) thought he was brilliant and whenever I got into trouble with my mother (Sara Zubair)for a sloppy homework or a poor test score, she would chide me for not trying hard enough before launching into a long sermon about her brilliant cousin.
    I always paid a lot of attention to what my uncle (K.M.Amer) had to say. Somehow things just sounded more interesting coming from him. He would often state that Moin mamma was so brilliant that he could just walk into an exam room without even touchng a book and still come first. I was in elementary school those days, and I remember, quitely wondering how could one be so good.
    Everyone around me seemed to reaffirm his brilliance. Yawar mamma thought he was brilliant and Shabbo mamma (Sharjil Hassan) thought he was brilliant, but his biggest fan, by far, was my my late nana S.K. Shamshul Hassan. His eyes would light up with pride and the air would fill up with the familiar sound bytes of ‘First class First’, ‘Topped’, and ofcourse ‘Brilliant’, whenever he talked about Moin mamma’s academic exploits.
    Once while I was in Dhaka, I distinctly remember standing on the balcony with my nana watching a young kid walk towards us. “That is Anjum, Moin’s brother”, and he went on to add “You can tell just by the way he walks that he is very intelligent and will do great things”. I teasingly asked him if he was as good as Moin mamma, and pat came the reply. “Moin is Moin, he is just brilliant”.
    Years later, sometime in the mid nineties, I ran into a very learned gentelman named Abidullah Ghazi in Chicago. During the course of our conversation he somehow found out the I was related to S.K. Moinul Hassan. He immediately stood up, held my hands and said something I had known forever,”He is a brillliant man”.
    The news of Moin mamma’s death was very shocking to me. I had always hoped to meet him one day and to tell him just how much he had inspired me and how much I admired him.
    May Allah rest his soul in eternal peace and give strength and courage to us all to bear this loss. Ameen

  21. Ingrid Watson Miller Says:

    I was sadden to hear of the death of a dear colleague and friend. Although I had only worked with him for 4 years, I found him to always be cheerful and ever looking on the positive side of life. I feel blessed to have known him.
    May the family find peace and strength as you mourn the loss.

  22. Syed K Ovais Hassan Says:

    Subhanallah,Moin Chachu had recited the kalima as his last words before he died.It was so hard to believe that he had left the world alSubhanallah,Moin Chachu had recited the kalima as his last words before he died.It was so hard to believe that he had left the world already because a uncle who lived for 56 years had departed from the world on Friday,10:25pm.Moin Chachu was a very patient uncle.Moin chachu was like a real suffi.All his ibadat was batini.If anyone was upset for any kind of reasons,Moin chachu would come and say his most valuable words from his heart and it would make that persons heart happy and soft.Even though Moin chachu was my uncle,he seemed very special and very different.If he can’t be present in front of me anymore,he is present in my heart and I will never forget him INSHALLAH!He departed from the world but left great lessons for his nephews that weSubhanallah,Moin Chachu had recited the kalima as his last words before he died.It was so hard to believe that he had left the world already because a uncle who lived for 56 years had departed from the world on Friday,10:25pm.Moin Chachu was a very patient uncle.Moin chachu was like a real suffi.All his ibadat was batini.If anyone was upset for any kind of reasons,Moin chachu would come and say his most valuable words from his heart and it would make that persons heart happy and soft.Even though Moin chachu was my uncle,he seemed very special and very different.If he can’t be present in front of me anymore,he is present in my heart and I will never forget him INSHALLAH!He departed from the world but left great lessons for his nephews that we all should follow for a good personality in the future. OBVIOUSLY, he was great person.By his behavior anyone could say he’s a Syed.I am speechless too but the only thing I could say that death is reality that we all have to face but may Allah make our death like Moin chachu’s death INSHALLAH AMEEN ALLAH HUMMA AMEEN!!!! all should follow for a good personality in the future.OVIOUSLY,he was great person.By his behavior anyone could say he’s a Syed.I am speechless too but the only thing I could say that death is reality that we all have to face but may Allah make our death like Moin chachu’s death INSHALLAH AMEEN ALLAH HUMMA AMEEN!!!!ready because a uncle who lived for 56 years had departed from the world on Friday,10:25pm.Moin Chachu was a very patient uncle.Moin chachu was like a real suffi.All his ibadat was batini.If anyone was upset for any kind of reasons,Moin chachu would come and say his most valuable words from his heart and it would make that persons heart happy and soft.Even though Moin chachu was my uncle,he seemed very special and very different.If he can’t be present in front of me anymore,he is present in my heart and I will never forget him INSHALLAH!He departed from the world but left great lessons for his nephews that we all should follow for a good personality in the future.OVIOUSLY,he was a great person.By his behavior anyone could say he’s a Syed.I am speechless too but the only thing I could say that death is reality that we all have to face but may Allah make our death like Moin chachu’s death INSHALLAH AMEEN ALLAH HUMMA AMEEN!!!!


  23. Moin Chacchu (Bapu) was one of the most valuable assets of our family, and his departure marks the end of a era.

    He was my role model on many levels. His academic success, his Sufi-Islamic ideals, and his lessons in life were an inspiration to me and countless others.

    I was really looking forward to seeing him after 4 years this summer in New York, and it’s heart-wrenching knowing that I won’t ever get to see him again.

    I know that the mothers and fathers of Nawab Bari (including mine) use Bapu as an example when they encourage their children to excel academically, to be an ideal Muslim, or to simply be obedient, polite, and show utmost decency to others.

    Not only did we learn from him through his actions and advice, but even after his passing he is used as an example of a noble life, and many, including me, hope to follow it.

    I can never forget his hospitaly, his generousity, his decency, and most of all his smile (which still brings tears to my eyes when I remember it). The only thing I regret is not talking to him that often during the last few months, and it will loom over me for the rest of my life.

    As Ovais said earlier, anyone can see by his behaviour that he is a true Syed and a pure Sufi, and I know that the peaceful and graceful nature of his death truly indicates what Allah (SWT) has planned for him.

    Judging by his behaviour and attitude during his last days, I think the final lesson he left for us is: “To err is human, to forgive divine”.

    His absence will be greatly felt by all that knew him. I know Allah (SWT) will grant him peace in Heaven, and I hope to live AND die just like my Bapu.

  24. Timothy Brennan Says:

    I am desolate to hear the news of Syed’s death, and am shocked to learn that someone so passionately full of life could be gone at so young an age. My memories of him are filled with fondness, as well as admiration for his bravery, conviction, and unmatchable warmth. He honored me once by asking me to write a preface for his book of poems, Ashes and Sparks, and we worked together on his dissertation on Yeats — a study antinomian enough to meet skepticism from some of the older members of the Purdue faculty, but utterly convincing to me. With a smile that made one happy to be alive, he always made me feel the depths of good-well possible only in a fully human being (there are so few!). And perhaps this inner warmth is what moved him to fight against stupidity and barbarism, both in his writing and as an activist. Cheers to him, and I applaud his life,


  25. Deeply shocked. We all knew that he would be coming back to Claflin to teach again, but his soul left for some other bigger cause. The saddest part is that we will not see him again and personally miss his shiny smile. I wonder who would say- ‘Habib Bhai you are great.’ Mainul, enjoy your stay in God’s hand.

  26. an acquaintance Says:

    I would like to extend my sincere condolences to the family of S.K.Moinul Hassan

  27. Nuha Says:

    Mammujaan was a true paradigm of a Ghulam-e-Rasool (Sal’allahu alaihe Wasalam). He has shown everyone the true meaning of unconditional love for family, friends, and mostly for Habib-Allah Rahmatulil’alameen Muhammad (Sal’allahu alaihe Wasalam).

    It’s our misfortune that we could not care for Mammujaan as the blessing that he was. I now realize how deeply so many were touched by him. Thanks to everyone for their heartfelt condolences.

  28. A.F.M.A.Harris Says:

    I have known closely only two members of the Dhaka Nawab family ……Khwaja Sharjil Hassan who was my teacher in Dhaka Government College & Khwaja Moinul Hassan who was my contemporary and classfriend.I can proudly say that it was an honour to know them.I haven’t come across anybody as humble and as gentle as them. May Allah bestow peace and prosperity on their progenitors.

  29. Zehra Says:

    1. My Mammujaan taught me how a diamond is made. He said first it is a coal, and just like every other coal it is black in colour and worthless. But then a part of this coal is exposed to pressure, extremely high pressure. After many trials and tribulations, the coal hardens and starts to change. It transforms into a beautiful sparkling diamond worth millions of dollars. Because of his undying love and servitude for our Beloved Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) and Maula Ali (RA), my Mammujaan is a sparkling diamond amongst the coal that he left behind.
    I plead to everyone not to be sad but to celebrate Mammujaan’s successful graduation from this test to his actual place in heaven.


Leave a Reply

